It is currently Sun 12. May 2024 17:12:52

All times are UTC + 1 hour

Print view Previous topic | Next topic 
PostPosted: Thu 17. Sep 2015 15:17:38 

This is my first time to post in this forum. English is my second language. So, If I cannot express myself clear enough, please let me know :) .

I was trying to sort out the tail stopping behavior on my 450L yesterday. I had the Heli up for several fast left and right pirouettes and then stopped the motor and connected the Spirit FBL Unit to a lap computer to alter both the left and right Rudder Limits and increased the Rudder Delay. Saved the settings to the Unit and went up again. I did not disconnect the battery to reset the Unit nor test the Rescue Mode before I spin up the motor this time (I tested the Rescue Mode in the beginning of the flight as I always did). After completed several fast left and right pirouettes and some general fly around, I brought the Heli to a 3-foot, tail-in, upright hover. I decided to test the climb rate of the Rescue Mode so I hit the Switch on my Tx. To my very surprise :shock: , the Heli flipped itself UP-SIDE-DOWN and accelerated towards the ground INVERTED :shock: I was shocked :shock: and there was not enough time for me to react; the Heli CRASHED :x :cry: .

After the crash, I picked up the Heli and placed it with its skids on the ground (upright) and tested the Rescue Mode again (certainly, the motor was off at the time). The Unit gave FULL forward elevator as if it was trying to turn the Heli to an inverted orientation. I reconfirmed this by activating the Switch several times and the results were the same. The Unit seemed to have mixed up the Upright and Inverted orientations at some stage during this flight.

I discounted and re-plugged the battery to reset the Unit. This time, the Rescue Mode reacted normally.