It is currently Sat 27. Apr 2024 23:23:48

All times are UTC + 1 hour

Print view Previous topic | Next topic 
PostPosted: Sun 05. Nov 2023 15:47:37 

I'm new to the Spirit FBL world. I've been using V-Bar for a while. I picked up a Spirit RS unit and am encountering some unexpected behavior. Every time I connect the main battery the startup looks normal, but I always get a message the the receiver rebooted within the first 5 seconds. Is this normal for this type of FBL? None of my normal Jeti receivers do this.

Are there any known issues that would cause the RS to stop responding to inputs? I've been flying with the RS for 3 weeks. At the end of my 2nd flight this weekend I pulled into a hover to land and the heli just started drifting until it tipped over. No low RF alarms, just no response to stick inputs. It was only ~15' (5m) away. Post crash control checks showed unexpected servo response (not linear with the sticks). Checking the Spirit logs on the radio showed sporadic reports of corrupted packets. Attempts to access the log from a PC failed with a "corrupted data" indication.

I confirmed the anti-static kit on the tail is grounded to the motor mount, and re-flashed the firmware to 3.5.0. I'm still getting the RX reset but the logging is now readable, the servo response seems to be better, and no corrupted packet reports. The TX is a DC-24.

Can someone with an RS please let me know if the reboot is normal?

In case it matters, the RS is powered by a Castle 2.0 BEC set to 8v with a 6s lipo as the source. Both BEC outputs are connected to the RS. I have a telem uni cable connected to a Jive ESC. The Jive BEC output is isolated from the system.

As you would expect, I'm a bit gun-shy of this unit until I figure out what is going on. An unresponsive heli in a 3' hover is not a good thing.

Thoughts / suggestions?

PostPosted: Sun 05. Nov 2023 17:27:09 
Site Admin

Hello,