It is currently Mon 16. Dec 2019 10:58:23

All times are UTC + 1 hour





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
  Print view Previous topic | Next topic 
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed 04. Dec 2019 1:13:00 
Offline

Joined: Thu 10. Jan 2019 0:03:35
Posts: 14
Hi,

I am just wondering how reliable the Hobbywing ESC temp reading is (and also the A reading) that is being sent to the Spirit?

For example, on a slightly warm day, doing some moderate flying, I am getting occasional alerts of a 95 degrees Celsius ESC temp.

I read somewhere that Hobbywing ESCs should not exceed 80 degrees Celsius?

I'm also wondering if the current (A) data that Hobbywings send out to Spirit is accurate. I've seen some crazy readings (that I'd NEVER see from Castle ESCs) like 246A on a 6S heli! Castle ESCs also don't get this hot, according to their logs.

Which makes me wonder if the HW data can be trusted?!

Thanks for any advice,

Rob


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed 04. Dec 2019 2:32:18 
Offline

Joined: Thu 10. Jan 2019 0:03:35
Posts: 14
Also, I just noticed something else. MY Trex 800, using the Spektrum integration with a Spirit Pro said that the current max was 228A. It's never been this high so I checked the Castle logs on the ESC itself. Max current was only 70.9A, so now I'm not sure what to believe?!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed 04. Dec 2019 10:26:19 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Mon 29. Apr 2013 16:06:44
Posts: 9071
Hello,

Spirit unit is just receiving and retransmitting the data.
We can't do nothing about accuracy but this is what ESC measured.

It is very dependent on how the ESC is measuring the variables, One ESC can make averages and one can show a total peak from the actual moment.

So both can measure correctly but interpretation could be different. So manufacturer could give you some more details.
Data transmission from HobbyWing is all digital so it can be trusted more than from Castle actually. But how precise are chips that are doing the measurement is other case.

_________________
Spirit System developer


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed 04. Dec 2019 20:37:03 
Offline

Joined: Thu 10. Jan 2019 0:03:35
Posts: 14
I thought this was this case, but I was hoping maybe there was some setting that I had missed or setup incorrectly. However, this still doesn't explain Spektrum and Castle telemetry saying 228A max when the actual ESC logs themselves say 70.9A max? So, from what you're saying, Castle transmitted the value of 228A, even though it recorded only 70.9A itself?

I don't think I trust any of these values (which is not your fault, obviously!). Even just plugging the Hobbywing program box into an ESC after a flight shows completely bogus current levels.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 1 hour


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron



Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
skymiles_red v1.0.1 designed by Team -Programming forum-سيارات للبيع .