All times are UTC + 1 hour

Print view Previous topic | Next topic 
PostPosted: Tue 07. Jul 2020 13:32:18 

Hello pilots,

I am new to all this. Please note my plan, before answering me:

1) I am and will remain a tame pilot, no inverted, no 3D
2) I am training myself on the flight-sim
3) At this stage, all that I plan is to learn to hover
4) When I will feel confident, I will fly in front of myself at no further than 20-30 meters away
5) I will NOT fly any higher than maybe 15 meters...

My heli is a Trex-600E converted to FBL DFC. I will be using my original main rotor blades, I didn't see any need to get new FBL blades.

So, Do I need to think about setting up rescue mode or any of the fancy things, now when I just want to learn to hover? I will be at 2-3 meters in front of me...

After i finished step-9 on the wizard, I set my pitch travel on my Tx to : -5, 0 , + 9. Is it OK or will the Spirit get confused because I did that?

What is the next step I need to do to start hovering? Or nothing at all?

Thanks

PostPosted: Tue 07. Jul 2020 14:30:38 

alex4orly wrote:
...So, Do I need to think about setting up rescue mode or any of the fancy things, now when I just want to learn to hover? I will be at 2-3 meters in front of me....

pls do not take me wrong, but a beginner trying to hover a 600 (built without much experience?) just 2-3 meters "in front of me" could easily end in a candidature for Darwin Award. you should never get that close to a running heli of that size... a simple pilot error or technical mistake could hurt you heavily or even kill you. maybe you have any experienced heli pilot to help you with the first flights?

to the rest: rescue is always a good idea... esp. for beginners when they loose control and/or orientation. and when they do not forget to push 'Rescue' button. can save a lot of bugs and could help in accelerating the learning curve.

PostPosted: Tue 07. Jul 2020 15:30:25 
Site Admin

Hello,