It is currently Thu 25. Apr 2024 6:14:12

All times are UTC + 1 hour

Print view Previous topic | Next topic 
 Post subject: Boom Strike
PostPosted: Mon 30. Nov 2015 2:47:02 

8th flight on my new Protos Max. 715 Clyclones, Black dampers, Spirt FBL. A friend who is a very good pilot was flying. He wanted to test the Spirit rescue mode. I've used it with no problems. The second time he hit the button the heli exploded. The devastation was instantaneous and complete. Truly a spectacular thing to watch.

Help me prevent this in the future.
I think I may know where I went wrong. On pervious helis (Align) I set the cyclic ring as high as possible without binding. On the Protos I was surprised how high I could set it. I thought that was a good thing. Now I think maybe it is too high. Also with Spirit I can choose how much collective is applied for rescue. More collective equals faster rescue. So I used 100%. Now I think maybe this is too high.

I'm still kind of new at this stuff so what do you smarter and more experienced people think?
How do I determine where to set cyclic ring and collective?

Post subject: Re: Boom Strike
PostPosted: Mon 30. Nov 2015 10:04:58 
Site Admin

Oh, this is very sad :(
I recommend to set Cyclic Ring so that angle is not higher than Collective Pitch.
Generally it should be enough if your Cyclic angle is around +/-10°.
If 10° will be enough for you (rotation speed is not affected), then you do not have to increase it at all.

If all parameters are maxed, then probability of boom strike is increasing especially on the big helicopters. When your head speed is low then the chance is much higher.

PostPosted: Tue 01. Dec 2015 23:49:48 

This is very sad indeed.
What’s really sad is that I set it up exactly like the manual says to do it.